Finalised the jury of 81st Venice International Film Festival

Finalised the jury of 81st Venice International Film Festival
The International Jury has been finalised for the Venezia 81 Competition of the 81st Venice International Film Festival (28 August - 7 September 2024) of La Biennale di Venezia, directed by Alberto Barbera. The jury will consist of a total of nine international film personalities, who will award the Golden Lion for Best Film and the other official awards.

Chaired - as previously announced on May 8 - by French actress Isabelle Huppert, the International Jury of the Venezia 81 Competition will also include members: American director and screenwriter James Gray; British director and screenwriter Andrew Haigh; Polish director, screenwriter and producer Agnieszka Holland; Brazilian director and screenwriter Kleber Mendonça Filho; Mauritanian director, screenwriter and producer Abderrahmane Sissako; Italian director and screenwriter Giuseppe Tornatore; German director and screenwriter Julia von Heinz; and Chinese actress Zhang Ziyi.

The Golden Lion for Best Film and other official awards will be announced during the closing ceremony of the 81st Venice International Film Festival on Saturday, September 7 on the stage of the Sala Grande of the Palazzo del Cinema at the Venice Lido.

The personalities convened as members of the Jury for the Venezia 81 Competition are: Isabelle Huppert (President, French actress); James Gray (American director and screenwriter); Andrew Haigh (British writer and director); Agnieszka Holland (Polish director, screenwriter and producer); Kleber Mendonça Filho (Brazilian screenwriter, director and film programmer); Abderrahmane Sissako (Director, screenwriter and producer from Mauritania); Giuseppe Tornatore (Italian director and screenwriter); Julia von Heinz (German director and screenwriter); Zhang Ziyi (Chinese actress);

The Jury of Venezia 81 will award the following official prizes to the feature films in Competition, with no joint awards allowed: Golden Lion for Best Film, Silver Lion - Grand Jury Prize, Silver Lion for Best Director, Coppa Volpi for Best Actress, Coppa Volpi for Best Actor, Special Jury Prize, Award for Best Screenplay, and “Marcello Mastroianni” Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress.