The awards of the 77th Venice Film Festival

The awards of the 77th Venice Film Festival
The awards of this year's edition of the festival are being unveiled at the closing ceremony that was held Saturday 12 September. An event that will be remembered for being the first A-list festival to happen since lockdown.

The Chair of the Jury for the Venezia 77 Competition, Australia's Cate Blanchett, and her fellow jurors, actor Matt Dillon (USA), director Veronika Franz (Austria), director Joanna Hogg (Great Britain), writer Nicola Lagioia (Italy), director Christian Petzold (Germany) and actress Ludivine Sagnier (France), have awarded Nomadland by Chloé Zhao the Golden Lion. Zhao thus becomes only the fifth female director – after Sofia Coppola, Mira Nair, Agnès Varda and Margarethe von Trotta – to win Venice’s top prize.

The Mexican-French dystopian tale New Order by Michel Franco won the Silver Lion - Grand Jury Prize. The Volpi Cup for Best Actor went to the Italian’s Pierfrancesco Favino for his turn in Padrenostro, directed by Claudio Noce. The Volpi Cup for Best Actress went to the UK’s Vanessa Kirby for her critically acclaimed work in Pieces of a Woman by Kornél Mundruczó. Dear Comrades by Andrey Konchalovskiy won the Special Jury Award.

Furthermore, the President of the Orizzonti jury, French filmmaker Claire Denis, and her fellow jurors Christine Vachon (USA), Katriel Schory (Israel), Francesca Comencini (Italy) and Oskar Alegria (Spain) selected The Wasteland by Iran's Ahmad Bahrami as Best Film. Listen by Ana Rocha de Sousa was awarded the Special Orizzonti Jury Prize, topping off a huge night for the Portuguese-UK co-production, which also won the Lion of the Future - “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film.

Here is the full list of winners:


Golden Lion for Best Film to:
by Chloé Zhao (USA)

Silver Lion - Grand Jury Prize to:
Nuevo Orden (New Order)
by Michel Franco (Mexico, France)

Silver Lion - Award for Best Direction to:
Kiyoshi Kurosawa
for the film Spy No Tsuma (Wife of a Spy) (Japan)

Special Jury Prize to:
Dorogie Tovarischi! (Dear comrades!)
by Andrei Konchalovsky (Russia)

Award for Best Screenplay to:
Chaitanya Tamhane
for the film The Discipline (India)

Cup Volpi for Best Actress:
Vanessa Kirby
in the film Pieces of a Woman by Kornél Mundruczó (Canada, Hungary)

Cup Volpi for Best Actor:
Pierfrancesco Favino
in the film Padrenostro by Claudio Noce (Italy)

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best Young Actor or Actress to:
Rouhollah Zamani
in the film Khorshid (Sun Children) by Majid Majidi (Iran)


Orizzonti Award for Best Film to:
Dashte Khamoush (The Wasteland)
by Ahmad Bahrami (Iran)

Orizzonti Award for Best Director to:
Lav Diaz
for the film Lahi, Hayop (Genus Pan) (Philippines)

Special Orizzonti Jury Prize to:
by Ana Rocha de Sousa (United Kingdom, Portugal)

Orizzonti Award for Best Screenplay to:
Pietro Castellitto
for the film I Predatori (Italy)

Orizzonti Award for Best Actress to:
Khansa Batma
in the film Zanka Contact by Ismaël El Iraki (France, Morocco, Belgium)

Orizzonti Award for Best Actor to:
Yahya Mahayni
in the film The Man Who Sold His Skin by Kaouther Ben Hania (Tunisia, France, Germany, Belgium, Sweden)

Orizzonti Award for Best Short Film to:
Entre Tú y Milagros
by Mariana Saffon (Colombia, USA)

Venice Short Film Nomination for the European Film Awards 2020 to:
The Shift
by Laura Carreira (United Kingdom, Portugal)


Lion of the Future - “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film to:
by Ana Rocha de Sousa (United Kingdom, Portugal)


Grand Jury Prize for Best VR Immersive Work to:
The Hangman at Home – An Immersive Single User Experience
by Michelle and Uri Kranot (Denmark, France, Canada)

Best VR Immersive User Experience to:
Finding Pandora X
by Kiira Benzing (USA)

Best VR Immersive Story to:
Sha Si da Ming Xing (Killing a Superstar)
by Fan Fan (China)
tv france
mip china